Black Market DVDs

DVD market

In the short time I’ve been in China, one of the great things I’ve found is the black market DVD stores. For the most part, these stores look like any small DVD/CD store. They’ll have the latest Taiwanese pop, an assortment of American music, and expensive box sets of T.V. shows.

But in the back, some of the DVD/CD stores will have crates of black market DVDs. It’s a lot of fun to dig through the unorganized DVD’s to see what you can find. They’ll have everything from the latest Hollywood blockbuster (often in Chinese stores week or so before it opens in theaters in the U.S.) to more difficult to find BBC sitcoms.

In the DVD market I found this BBC sitcom. It was recommended by a friend back in the States, but I never got around to tracking to down. I think I would have trouble getting this in the US (that is, without Netflix).

In the DVD market I found this BBC sitcom. It was recommended by a friend back in the States, but I never got around to tracking to down. I think I would have trouble getting this in the US (that is, without Netflix).

Derek digging for bootlegs

Derek digging for bootlegs.

The bootlegged DVDs are cheap, around $1.20 U.S. per disc. The quality of the DVD varies dramatically. I’ve seen “District 9” in which the aliens speech was not subtitled, “Hurt Locker” dubbed over in Italian with English subtitles, and I’ve heard about a copy of the newest Terminator that switches to Russian in the last 10 minutes. But bad quality isn’t much of a problem. And if it is, you can simply take to DVD back to the store, tell them what’s wrong, and exchange it for another.

These are the movies and shows Ive bought. So far I havent watched any of these movies. I am in China afterall! Theres too much I havent seen to be watching American media. Ive heard the winters are long and wet, so maybe then.

These are the movies and shows I've bought. So far I haven't watched any of these movies. I am in China afterall! There's too much I haven't seen to be watching American media. I've heard the winters are long and wet, so maybe then.

Leave a Reply

